Below you will find information from the North Carolina Department of Justice Website on the minimum training standards for Deputy Sheriff’s and Detention Officers in North Carolina.
MINIMUM TRAINING STANDARDS for justice officers:
Every Justice Officer employed or certified in North Carolina must meet certain minimum standards under 12 NCAC 10B .0300:
1. be a citizen of the United States;
2. be at least 21 years of age;
3. be a high school graduate, or the equivalent (GED);
4. have been fingerprinted by the employing agency;
5. have had a medical examination by a licensed physician;
6. have produced a negative result on a drug screen
7. make full disclosure of criminal charges and Domestic Violence Orders, both upon application and while holding certification;
8. be of good moral character;
9. have a thorough background investigation conducted by the employing agency, to include a personal interview prior to employment;
10. not have a prohibitive criminal history record.
MINIMUM TRAINING STANDARDS: DEPUTY SHERIFFS
Basic Law Enforcement Training (BLET)
The current Commission mandated Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, as outlined in Rule .0502 of the Administrative Code, should contain a minimum of 602 hours of instruction.
Once a deputy sheriff becomes initially employed as such with a sheriff‘s department, he/she is then placed on a probationary period for twelve (12) months. During the probationary period, the deputy sheriff should complete a Basic Law Enforcement Training Course. A deputy sheriff that does not complete a course delivery during the probationary period will no longer be able to perform the duties of a deputy sheriff.
An individual may also choose to enroll in the Basic Law Enforcement Training Course at a local community college or at the North Carolina Justice Academy. The local college or Justice Academy should be contacted for their enrollment criteria. Successful completion of BLET remains valid for a period of one (1) year from the date of passing the state examination. If an individual completes a course delivery and begins employment with an agency more than one (1) year from the administering of the state examination, the individual's training would be considered invalid and he/she would be required to complete an additional course delivery.
The rules governing the minimum standards for completion of Basic Law Enforcement Training are found in Title 12, Subchapter 9B, Section .0400 of the North Carolina Administrative Code. These rules are administered by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission.
Some individuals sworn as deputies who have prior North Carolina law enforcement service may qualify as lateral transfers and not be required to complete any additional basic training. However, if the individual was under an obligation to complete in-service training and did not do so, he/she must make-up in-service training before performing law enforcement functions. See the In-Service Training FAQs for details.
Other individuals being sworn as deputies who may have prior out-of-state, federal, or North Carolina law enforcement service may qualify to attempt to challenge BLET by passing the state examination and undergoing a skills assessment.
Annual In-Service Training is also required for Deputy Sheriffs.
MINIMUM TRAINING STANDARDS: DETENTION OFFICERS
Detention Officer Certification Course
The current Commission mandated Detention Officer Certification Course, as outlined in Rule .0601 of the Administrative Code, should contain a minimum of 172 hours of instruction. It is offered across the state by the NC Justice Academy, some Sheriffs’ Offices, and several community colleges.
The Rule includes the required topic areas and minimum hours of instruction for each topic. A full course of instruction must be administered to all Detention Officer Certification Course trainees. A change or expansion of a topic area in the course should not be made.
However, any local agency rules or standards may be delivered during the course to trainees, but may not be supported by the Commission for purposes of testing or certification.
Once a detention officer becomes employed as such with a sheriff’s department or district confinement facility, he/she is then placed on a probationary period for twelve (12) months. During the probationary period, the detention officer should complete a Detention Officer Certification Course. A detention officer that does not complete a course delivery during the probationary period will no longer be able to perform the duties of a detention officer. The Detention Officer Certification Course is valid for a period of one (1) year from the date of administering the state examination. If an individual completes a course delivery and begins employment with an agency more than one (1) year from the administering of the state examination, the individual's training would be considered invalid and he/she would be required to complete an additional course delivery.
Annual In-Service Training is also mandated for Detention Officers.
Anyone interested in becoming a Deputy Sheriff or Detention Officer with our department can pick up a Job Interest Form in person at the front desk or can submit one below.